Ultra beginnings

I won two prizes from Sam Robson`s raffle back in July.

https://www.justgiving.com/UltraRaffle/

Thanks To Robbie Britton for the ultra Julbo sunglasses.

http://robbiebritton.co.uk/

The second prize a half days training with Andy Mouncey.

Home

This came to pass on Sunday 7th September, as part of a weekend away in Lancaster. The itinerary had been agreed via email, with Andy, and started with my run of choice – A five miler round the Ingleton Falls walk. http://www.ingletonwaterfallstrail.co.uk/

A sunny day meant this warm up was a good start. A jog, a walk, a view of waterfalls  – perfect beginning. Andy met me half way round, on bike due to stress fracture, to check ok and point in the right direction.

Warm up finished. Andy met me with towel and drink on offer. A short walk to the café and tea and scone like an ultra checkpoint. We sat down and began to address the issues I had raised with Andy via email. This including a don`t, till now, for Andy. Apparently he does not do don`ts. Anyway his list of don`ts is now published.

His experience, both as participant and coach, was evident and instilled confidence in me that I could conquer an ultra.  Some say you just have to do it! I say gathering knowledge, testing in training and applying a method will minimise errors. Thanks to Andy`s insight I feel an ultra is within my capabilities.

Our final encounter was to practise ascent and descent techniques including poles for the uphill.  This was a useful introduction to the science of conservation.

The world of ultra marathoning is about to become another stage of my journey.

Thanks to Andy Mouncey.

Leave a comment